Real Estate Agent Requirements and Renewing Your License
To become a real estate agent in Florida, you need to meet certain criteria. This includes the Education and Exam requirements, as well as the renewal requirements. Before you apply, you should learn about these requirements. You can find them in this article. This article also covers how to get fingerprinted.
Criteria to get a real estate license in Florida
Before you can start selling real estate in Florida, you must obtain a real estate license. You must be at least 18 years old and pass a background check. You will need to complete 45 hours of pre-license credits, including a six-hour contract-writing course. You must also pass a state exam. You must have good moral character and disclose any past criminal convictions. If you have a felony on your record, you will not be considered for a real estate license in Florida. In addition, you must obtain a fingerprint clearance card, submit an application to the Broker’s office, and complete 24 hours of continuing education every two years.
To get a real estate license in Florida, you must complete a pre-license course and obtain a Social Security number. After completing the course, you must pass all unit exams and the course final exam with a score of 70% or higher. You also must have a GED or equivalent if you are planning on becoming a real estate agent. Once you have completed the requirements, you can apply for a real estate license in Florida.
The education requirements for Florida real estate license are not terribly high. The minimum requirements are 18 years old, passing the real estate exam and having completed real estate coursework. You can even take a real estate class online. You also must pass a background check to ensure you are not a felon.
Continuing education courses are also important. After you receive your license, you must take continuing education courses to maintain it. Some states, like California, require a certain number of hours of post-licensing education, but Florida doesn’t. However, if you’re already licensed, you can take advantage of the reciprocity law between Florida and other states.
The Florida real estate license exam consists of multiple-choice questions, which you must answer correctly. The questions are formatted so that you will not have to read long explanations. The test center also asks you to sign in, so that you can be photographed while taking the test. If you do not sign in, the test will be canceled and you will have to pay the fee again.
In order to pass the Florida real estate license exam, you must have completed the required pre-licensing course. This is a 63-hour course that can be completed online or at a licensed school. It focuses on several aspects of real estate, such as insurance coverage, factors that affect the price of a property, and complex legal terms.
Requirements for renewal
There are several steps to renew your Florida real estate license. First, you must complete a pre-license course and pass the real estate examination. Next, you must take a 45-hour post-license education course. This course builds on the lessons you learned during the pre-license period. You can take the course online or in a classroom. Courses can cost between $150 and $250.
You must complete at least 14 hours of continuing education courses each year to keep your license current. This includes three hours of Core Law and Ethics, and eight hours of specialty education. These courses are available online or from vendors approved by the Florida Realtors. Find out which courses and prices are offered in your area by visiting the Florida Realtors Education Calendar.